The Duke of Edinburgh is a National development program, empowering students to explore their full potential and find their passion in life.

Burgmann students are able to participate in the internationally recognised Duke of Edinburgh Award. The Award is a fully inclusive program and has no social, political, or religious affiliations.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is available to all 14–24 year olds, regardless of their background

The Award is comprised of three levels each progressively more challenging:

  • Bronze - For those over 14 years old
  • Silver - For those over 15 years old
  • Gold - For those over 16 years old

Participants are required to complete four sections at each level: Voluntary Service, Skill, Physical Recreation and Adventurous Journey. Gold level, participants also complete a Gold Residential Project.

Through this challenging journey of self-discovery, Burgmann students:

  • Will be empowered and encouraged to achieve their best learning to overcome personal barriers
  • They will learn to take responsibility for their goals and choices
  • They will engage and learn to connect with their local community making a positive contribution
  • Learn to persevere and overcome barriers to success
  • Learn important life skills
  • Helps to increase future career opportunities

For more information on the program please visit the website: